7th IPM International Conference on
Fundamentals of Software Engineering
(FSEN 2017)
26 - 28 April, 2017
Tehran, Iran


Topics of Interest

Paper Submission


Important Dates

Keynote Speakers


Accepted Papers





Travel Info


Contact Us

FSEN Homepage

In cooperation with:

FSEN'05  |  FSEN'07  |  FSEN'09  |  FSEN'11  |  FSEN'13  |  FSEN'15  |  FSEN Homepage

  • Conference proceedings is now available online. You can access this version here.
  • Pre-proceedings is available here.
  • Best paper award is given to:
    Ferruccio Damiani, Michael Lienhardt and Luca Paolini
    A Formal Model for Multi SPLs

    Best presentation award winner:
    Mahdi Houshmand and Samad Paydar
    TCE+: an Extension of the TCE Method for Detecting Equivalent Mutants in Java Programs

    More Details ...

  • Thomas A. Henzinger, Leon van der Torre, and Philippa Gardner will be our Keynote Speakers at FSEN 2017!

  • Call for Papers

  • The FSEN'17 official website is up now.


FSEN is an international conference that aims to bring together researchers, engineers, developers, and practitioners from the academia and the industry to present and discuss their research work in the area of formal methods for software engineering. This conference seeks to facilitate the transfer of experience, adaptation of methods, and where possible, foster collaboration among different groups. The topics of interest cover all aspects of formal methods, especially those related to advancing the application of formal methods in the software industry and promoting their integration with practical engineering techniques. Following the success of the previous FSEN editions, the next edition of the FSEN conference will take place in Tehran, Iran, April 26-28, 2017.

Topics of Interest

The topics of this conference include, but are not restricted to, the following:

Models of programs and software systems

Software specification, validation, and verification

Software testing

Software architectures and their description languages

Object and multi-agent systems

Coordination and feature interaction

Integration of formal and informal methods

Integration of different formal methods

Component-based and Service-oriented software systems

Self-adaptive software systems

Model checking and theorem proving

Software and hardware verification

CASE tools and tool integration

Industrial Applications

Back to top

Paper Submission

Papers should be formatted according to the Springer LNCS style, not exceed 15 pages (including figures and references), submitted in PDF or postscript format through the EasyChair conference management system. Submissions should explicitly state their contribution and their relevance to the themes of the conference. Papers will be evaluated based on originality, significance, relevance, correctness and clarity. Papers should not be submitted simultaneously for publication elsewhere.

You can submit your papers/abstracts via the following link: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=fsen2017

Back to top


The post-proceedings of FSEN'17 will be published by Springer Verlag in the LNCS series (to be confirmed). There will be a pre-proceeding, printed locally by IPM, available at the conference. Following the tradition of FSEN, we plan to have a special issue of Science of Computer Programming journal devoted to FSEN'17 (to be confirmed). After the conference a selection of papers will be invited for this special issue. The invited papers should be extended and will undergo a new round of review by an international program committee. Please see the websites of previous editions of FSEN for more information on post-proceedings and special issues related to those editions.

Back to top

Important Dates

 Abstract Submission: October 22, 2016    Extended for 2 weeks: November 5, 2016
 Paper Submission: October 29, 2016    Extended for 2 weeks: November 12, 2016
 Notification: December 17, 2016
 Camera Ready: January 21, 2017
 Conference: April 26-28, 2017

Back to top

Keynote Speakers

Thomas A. Henzinger, IST, Austria

Leon van der Torre, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Philippa Gardner, Imperial College London, UK

Back to top

General Chairs

Farhad Arbab, CWI, Netherlands; Leiden University, Netherlands

Hamid Sarbazi-azad, IPM, Iran; Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Back to top

Program Chairs

Mehdi Dastani, Utrecht University, Netherlands

Marjan Sirjani, Malardalen University, Sweden; Reykjavík University, Iceland

Back to top

Publicity Chair

Hossein Hojjat, Cornell University, USA

Back to top

Steering Committee

Farhad Arbab, CWI, Netherlands; Leiden University, Netherlands

Christel Baier, University of Dresden, Germany

Frank de Boer, CWI, Netherlands; Leiden University, Netherlands

Ali Movaghar, IPM, Iran; Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Hamid Sarbazi-azad, IPM, Iran; Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Marjan Sirjani, Malardalen University, Sweden; Reykjavik University, Iceland (Chair)

Jan Rutten, CWI, Netherlands; Vrije University Amsterdam, Netherlands

Back to top

Program Committee

Mohammad Abdollahi Azgomi, Iran University of Science and Technology, Iran

Gul Agha, University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign, USA

Erika Abraham, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Christel Baier, Technical University of Dresden, Germany

Ezio Bartocci, TU Wien, Austria

Marcello Bonsangue, Leiden University, Netherlands

Mario Bravetti, University of Bologna, Italy

Michael Butler, University of Southampton, UK

Erik De Vink, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands

Wan Fokkink, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands

Adrian Francalanza, University of Malta, Malta

Masahiro Fujita, University of Tokyo, Japan

Maurizio Gabbrielli, University of Bologna, Italy

Fatemeh Ghassemi, University of Tehran, Iran

Jan Friso Groote, Technical University of Eindhoven, Netherlands

Hassan Haghighi, Shahid Beheshti University, Iran

Philipp Haller, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Holger Hermanns, Saarland University, Germany

Hossein Hojjat, Cornell University, USA

Mohammad Izadi, Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Einar Broch Johnsen, University of Oslo, Norway

Joost-Pieter Katoen, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Narges Khakpour, Linnaeus University, Sweden

Ramtin Khosravi, University of Tehran, Iran

Natallia Kokash, Leiden University, Netherlands

Eva Kühn, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Kim G. Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark

Zhiming Liu, Southwest University, China

Mieke Massink, CNR-ISTI, Italy

Seyyed Hassan Mirian Hosseinabadi, Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Ugo Montanari, University of Pisa, Italy

Peter Mosses, Swansea University, UK

Mohammad Reza Mousavi, Halmstad University, Sweden

Ali Movaghar, Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Peter Olveczky, University of Oslo, Norway

Meriem Ouederni, IRIT/INP Toulouse/ ENSEEIHT, France

Wishnu Prasetya, Universiteit Utrecht, Netherlands

Jose Proenca, University of Minho, Portugal

Wolfgang Reisig, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

Philipp Ruemmer, Uppsala University, Sweden

Gwen Salaun, Grenoble INP, Inria, France

Cesar Sanchez, IMDEA Software Institute, Spain

Ina Schaefer, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany

Wendelin Serwe, INRIA, France

Alexandra Silva, University College London, UK

Meng Sun, Peking University, China

Carolyn Talcott, SRI International, USA

Danny Weyns, Linnaeus University, Sweden

Local Organization Chair

Hamidreza Shahrabi, IPM, Iran

Back to top
© 2014 Copyright, School of Computer Science, IPM